Little image experiment on my son

Please don’t report me to the authorities for conducting a little frivolous experiment on my son. 

There is this nice python package ‘face_recognition’, it can recognize, manipulate faces in pictures and it can calculate distances between faces.  What is the distance between my son and me (when I was 9 years old) and how does that compare with other children.

The picture below shows two soccer youth teams, my son and me (35 years ago). I have Chinese roots, so to make it hard for the algorithm I included a Chinese soccer team. I am happy with the results of the experiment. With a distance of 0.601, my son almost had the smallest distance to me of all the 28 faces…..

Try out the face recognition python package for yourself.  

faces_matches

Leave a comment