Search the Bold

Looking for specific episodes of The Bold and The Beautiful?

There is a nice python package “holmes-extractor” that builds upon the spacy package. It supports a couple of use cases.

  • Chatbot
  • Structural matching
  • Topic matching
  • Supervised document classification I

I have used 4000 recaps of The Bold and the beautiful of the last 16 years to test Topic matching. I am using it to find texts in the recaps whose meaning is close to that of another query document or a query phrase entered by the user.

Just one example: Looking for: “she wanted to be close to him” gave me the recap of 2013-12-09: “It had only just begun, and he wanted to be closer to her. He had wanted to touch her, grab her, and he knew she wanted the same thing.

The code of holmes is concise, runs out of the box with little tweaking and tuning. See the Python module here. Try it out yourself and find your favourite TBATB episode. My example notebook and recaps.

Leave a comment